She asked me to stay, and then she told me to sit anywhere.

I am less overwhelmed now. Although I am still not in my right mind. I am tired, and sad, and dehydrated, and excited about the continuing adventure that is this trip as well as the idea of returning home and having Christmas.

Portland has been terrific so far. Joey’s was two days of Halo 3. Krista and Millie (two of my friends from Cannon Beach) are so strange and wonderous that I can’t even begin to explain. I spent yesterday with Millie. We went to Powell’s for a long time, and it was one of the nicest afternoons ever. We read Banksy’s book together, and then we looked through the rare-books room where they had this amazing book of 15th century cosmological models. Then we went to Mill’s End Park (the world’s smallest park) and walked on a Skyway. That evening she took me down this long mysterious path in the woods, at the end of which lay an old stone witch’s house. Strangely while we were there, a bizzare man with a big black dog came down the path. We are pretty sure that he was a warlock. We rounded off the day with dinner at **** (sorry kids, she took me to this secret spot, and i am not allowed to tell anyone about it). The food was ok, but the atmosphere and service was terriffic. Finally, we stayed up super late helping Krista with one of her art finals. She got into a bathtub, and we poured jello and ice and took pictures while the jello set, until she was like a human jello-mold.

That leads me to right now. Krista is at school, and I am in her apartment with her sleeping roomate. Millie is at work, on her lunch break right about now, but I can’t go out to lunch with her because I can’t get back into the apartment. Tonight I go to dinner with Bethany and all her friends, where I hope I don’t embarrass myself.

I will be home soon children. It makes me sad. I like it here. I like going to Powell’s with Millie and drinking tea with Bethany. Oh well. Such is not my lot.

One response to “She asked me to stay, and then she told me to sit anywhere.

  1. So I don’t know if you were around when there was the Dex worker named Julia, but she might have been around last year. She was a Russian immigrant who hardly spoke a word of English, but it didn’t matter, I was in love. Those dark eyes, the bright smile, the way she carried the pizza out from the back… Anyway, I used to always sing this song when I saw her and you reminded me of it:

    Half of what I say is meaningless
    But I say it just to reach you, Julia.
    Julia, Julia, oceanchild, calls me
    So I sing a song of love, Julia.

Leave a Reply

