For Millie;

We walked in single file like the lost boys looking for adventure and fun. Excitement was found on the side of the hill. We dug, and pushed, and sacrificed our bodies to make the slope just right. Then, up, down, up, down, up, down going as fast as we can; throwing ourselves down, hands clasped tight on the handles of our tubes. Cheering at every run.

Shhh….

We listen: silence. We look: snow falls thick around us. I smile as they return to the tubes, and look out over the valley: the trees, the snowy fields, the river in the distance. I wish that she was here. I know that she would be dancing and making snow angels and throwing herself down the hill like the best of them.

Is it strange to miss someone after only a single day? I don’t understand it. All I know is that I am glad I am here, in this place. Magic.

One response to “For Millie;

  1. Thank you Ian. It all sounds so beuatiful! Wish I could be there too.

    ps. you were right abou the dancing, snow angels , and sledding… I love it

Leave a Reply

