All your life.

The Perks of Being A Wallflower is not a particularly great book. But there is one aspect of it that really affected me. It was the part where he describes listening to “Black Bird” for the first time.

I have related my experiences with the White Album many times for many people. For much of my life it has served a secret and mystical purpose. The first time I listened to it, and Black Bird, my family was out of the house. I was curious, because when my father spoke of it, he did so with reverent tones. I soon discovered why.

It’s a record that means a lot to me, and it explains a lot of my feelings and thoughts, but it also describes some of the people that I know:

Nate – Rocky Racoon

Phil – While My Guitar Gently Weeps

Millie – Ob-La-Di Ob-La-Da

Jeff Taxdahl – Julia

Grandpa Wayne – I Will

Evilena Rene’ – Dear Prudence

I’m sure this doesn’t make any sense. Just go off by yourself, and listen to that record.

Leave a Reply

