it ain’t me babe.

Lately, to both my relief and irritation, I’ve been spending a lot of time on my own. There are a number of reasons for this, but suffice it to say, it’s true.

When ever I am walking or riding my bicycle around, I’ve found that I have a chance to think. And tonight as I was riding back to school from my house, I found myself in one of those delicious patches of darkness that inhabit every corner of my town.

I looked up at my favorite of God’s inventions: the stars, and suddenly a memory sparked in my head.
It was christmas time, and Millie and I were walking along the streets of Portland. She was taking me to a secret spot that she and Krista had just discovered. I looked up to try and see the stars, and I found that they had been scared away into hiding by the city lights.

I would like to say to everyone who grew up in a city, you have my deepest sympathies. To grow up with out the experience of stars is a terrible tragedy.

One response to “it ain’t me babe.

  1. shoot man. I miss the stars like i miss a close friend sometimes.

    But I’ll give Portland a little credit, when there’s no clouds (which in itself is rare), this fine city is just about as beautiful as a “big” city can get at night. Walking along the waterfront and watching the constellations run into buildings…gosh damn. Doesn’t get much better.

Leave a Reply

