From sucking on my mama’s breast, to the day they lay me down to rest, I’m a child.

My sisters found a dead mama duck the other day. Her babies were crowded around her, cheeping for food.

They took the babies home, and have been struggling to keep them alive.
There were six at the beginning,
now there is only one.

Even poor Popsicle, the only duck we named, died.
My folks are determined to keep this last baby alive.

He doesn’t have a name,
but in my mind I am calling him Sir. Paddle-Foot.

Leave a Reply

