We all knew about the hive and the honey bees.

Millie told me once that there are two kinds of magic: book magic and real magic. Book magic is fairies and dragons. The kind of stuff you find in Lord of the Rings. Real magic is completely different. Real magic is bicycling down a leafy path by the river, finding a secret spot to read in the woods, or dancing around a bon-fire while howling at the full moon. Real magic is everywhere, but you have to look for it.

Today I found some real magic in my room. It was hiding behind a old house-for-sale sign I had saved on a shelf in my bedroom. I was clearing a bunch of the junk off the shelf, and as I tossed the sign, I noticed a dry and dusty flower had been resting behind the sign.

Curious, I picked it up. Instantly I knew where it came from. I was at a show (mewithoutyou, I was a wayward youth at the time). I was all by myself, and I didn’t know anyone there. It was between sets, and I was outside, sitting on the sidewalk by myself. Quite unexpectedly, a cute dark-haired girl with square glasses walked right up to me. She had a bouquet of wild flowers in her hand. “I think you should have this,” she said, handing me a small purple flower.

I don’t know if she remembers it or not. A few years later, I ended up dating one of her good friends. Virginia laughed when I told her the story. She said that Kendra (the flower girl) had picked those flowers for Aaron Weiss. She seemed surprised that Kendra would give me a flower picked for Aaron. When I heard that, the gesture took on a whole new dimension for me.

I ended up becoming friends with Kendra. She’s a very interesting person. Intelligent, funny, and very opinionated. She also happens to be an incredible photographer. Kendra doesn’t live here any more. She moved to Boston a few months ago to study photography. I never mentioned the flower incident to her.

The flower is still sitting on my shelf.
I don’t know what to do with it.
I want to save it, but I don’t know how. Any ideas?

One response to “We all knew about the hive and the honey bees.

  1. As I was reading I was anticipating that the flower was just to ingratiate you to a cultist.

    I suggest you take a picture or send it to Kendra and have her do it. Keeping stuff leads to a mess.

Leave a Reply

