All the people turned away; but I just had to look.

I don’t think it will come to anyone’s surprise that I do not care for Sunday School.

It’s me and a bunch of friends from school. God bless ’em, they try. But it’s mostly just banal spiritual discussions filled with numerous awkward pauses, and trite comments. It’s nice that there is a place at church where I fit in, but that’s as far as it goes.

Today, however, things took a turn for the worse. It was marriage talk day. Conveniently, the only people who showed up were: the married couple and the three single dudes (including me).

It was awkward. We got a patronizing (and slightly misogynistic) lesson on how to “pursue our lifemate.” My favorite piece of advice was: make a list of every thing you want in your perfect spouse and then wait for a person that matches the list completely. The moral of the lesson was (more or less) “you should be looking for a wife cause being married is the greatest thing ever!”

It was bad. It was depressing.
It was not what I needed out of Sunday School today.

Leave a Reply

