To Properly Experience This Blog, You Should Turn On Ben Folds’ “Fred Jones, Part 2.”

So today was my last day at the Washington Times. I have no doubt that I will never work there again. Despite all my hard days, all my boring days and the hot-sweaty-walking around FedEx Field days, I am definitely going to miss it.

I felt very melencholy on the bus tonight.

My editor bought me lunch today. He told me that I have come really far since I began. It seems like a million years ago that he was telling me he wouldn’t have any time to save me from drowning. I guess I held my own. He told me that he would be glad to be a reference for the Oregonian, and for any job in the future.

I’m gonna miss Joe (my editor). He was funny and sarcastic, and a self-admitted asshole. But he was a great guy. I’m gonna miss Bill, the assistant editor. His nickname was Ouija. He is a zen master I think. I’m gonna miss Matt Cela, who (despite his crazy hair) is a terrific reporter, and someone who is genuinely trying to understand the story of the District. I’m gonna miss Anne, the french intern, and laughing when she doesn’t catch all my American colloquialisms.

And, I’m gonna miss seeing my name in print.

Well, it’s just another step in the journey. There will be more internships in the future, and more newsrooms, and more french girls (hopefully).

One response to “To Properly Experience This Blog, You Should Turn On Ben Folds’ “Fred Jones, Part 2.”

  1. Didn’t we figure out that Luke was actually the french girl in disguise?

Leave a Reply

