Her Majesty’s a pretty nice girl, but she doesn’t have a lot to say.

Tonight I saw the stars and walked with them in the cold, cold air. I traced the line from Ursa Major, to Polaris (the north star) and over to Cassiopeia. I watched Orion pursue the Pleiades. I saw shooting star after shooting star, and I put a wish on every one of them.

This was something I could not do in Washington. Up on my rooftop, I could see the warm glow of the Library of Congress, the bright gleam of the Capitol and the Basilica’s spires on a distant hilltop. But I couldn’t see the stars.

I’m sorry if, in pretty much ever conversation that I have, there is a reference to my time away. It’s probably getting annoying huh?

It’s just that I am still dealing with my experiences there, and I am still trying to figure out how it all is going to fit in, and what my life is going to look like here at “home.”

But I’m going to try and stop.

3 responses to “Her Majesty’s a pretty nice girl, but she doesn’t have a lot to say.

  1. Give it time my friend. You have to frame your experience here. And it was a pretty crazy experience. I mean you did get punched in the mouth.

  2. so long as your not in anyone’s ass hole.

  3. That story’s really gotten around, hasn’t it?

    It’s certainly a great conversation starter.

Leave a Reply

