There was a sixth day

Maybe you have heard the story, but I’ll repeat it just in case you haven’t.

When I was in second grade me, and the two boys I was walking to school with, burned down a tree in front of a stranger’s house.

We were playing with matches, and you know what they say about that. Well this tree caught and the next thing you know the three of us are sitting in the principle’s office with a police officer. That was kind of the straw that broke the camel’s back, and convinced my parents they should homeschool me ’till college.

You really need to understand that, of all the moments in my life, this was truly a cross roads. Not only did it profoundly impact me at the time, but it also completely changed the course of my life.

Well today things came full-circle. I was riding bikes around town with Phil, and I took him by to see the spot. Low and behold, the owner of the house was standing there. I introduced myself, and we actually had a really good laugh about the whole thing.

He said “I kind of felt bad for you, because you were just a little kid, and I heard your parents used your Christmas money to pay for it. But you’re lucky you didn’t burn my house down!”

Thinking on it now, it is so strange how certain events in our life propel us towards our fate. That guy was probably right, I was lucky that day.

2 responses to “There was a sixth day

  1. I remember that. The rest of us got long lectures not only about fire safety (not really safety, but “if we ever catch you near matches your butt will hurt so bad you won’t sit for a week) but about choosing our friends wisely and what “guilty by association” meant.

    Thanks for that. 🙂

  2. really? i had no idea.

    i definitely heard about “guilt by association” too. for pretty much the rest of my life actually.

Leave a Reply

